During the first five years of its operation the Board reviewed 40,863 cases, including applications for parole and automatic parole review, and granted 10,521 paroles. During the same period the Board revoked 1,033 paroles, which is a general average failure rate over the five-year period of 10 p.c. Of these 1,033 who failed on parole, 532 paroles were forfeited because of the commission of an indictable offence, and 501 were revoked for misbehaviour or the commission of a minor offence.

## Section 5.—Police Forces

Organization of Police Forces.—The police forces of Canada are organized in three groups: (1) the federal force, which is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; (2) provincial police forces—the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec have their own provincial police forces but all other provinces engage the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to perform parallel functions within their borders; and (3) municipal police forces—each urban centre of reasonable size maintains its own police force or engages the services of the provincial police, under contract, to attend to police matters. In addition, the Canadian National Railways, the Canadian Pacific Railway Company and the National Harbours Board have their own police forces.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a civil force maintained by the Federal Government. It was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police for service in what was then the North-West Territories and, in recognition of its services, was granted the use of the prefix "Royal" by King Edward VII in 1904. Its sphere of operations was expanded in 1918 to include all of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William and in 1920 it absorbed the Dominion Police, its headquarters was transferred from Regina to Ottawa and its title was changed to Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Force is under the control of the Minister of Justice and is headed by a Commissioner who holds the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from the non-commissioned ranks. The Force has complete jurisdiction in the enforcement of the federal statutes. By arrangement between the federal and provincial governments, it enforces the provincial statutes and the Criminal Code in all provinces exclusive of Ontario and Quebec and under special agreement it polices some 121 municipalities. It is the sole police force in the Yukon and Northwest Territories, where it also performs various administrative duties on behalf of certain departments of the Federal Government. It maintains liaison officers in London and Washington and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization, which has headquarters in Paris.

Of the Force's 17 divisions, 12 are actively engaged in the work of law enforcement, as are some 42 subdivisions and 646 detachments. The five remaining divisions are "Headquarters", "Depot" and "N", which are maintained as training centres, and "Marine" and "Air", which support the operations of the land divisions. A teletype system links the widespread divisional headquarters with the administrative centre at Ottawa and a network of fixed and mobile radio units operates within the provinces. Focal point of the Force's criminal identification work is the Headquarters Identification Branch; its services, together with those of the divisional and subdivisional units and the four Crime Detection Laboratories, are available to police forces throughout Canada. The Force operates the Canadian Police College at which Force members and selected representatives of other Canadian and foreign police forces may study the latest advances in the fields of crime prevention and detection.

The uniform strength of the Force at Mar. 31, 1964 was 6,910, including Marine Constables and Special Constables, at which time it maintained some 1,913 motor vehicles, 18 aircraft, 71 ships and boats, 188 sleigh dogs, 22 police service dogs and 220 horses.

Quebec Provincial Police Force.—The Quebec Provincial Police Force is responsible for the maintenance of peace, order and public safety in the province, and for the prevention and investigation of criminal offences and of violation of the laws of the province.